Skip to Content

MD Anderson Events

2018 Mike Hogg Award and Lecture

2018 Mike Hogg Award and Lecture

The annual Mike Hogg Award lecture series began during the tenure of MD Anderson's first president, R. Lee Clark, M.D. The event is underwritten by the Mike Hogg Fund and hosted by the MD Anderson Alumni & Faculty Association. Nobel Prize recipients who continue to be active in research are awarded and are invited to deliver a lecture as part of the award.

The 2018 recipient, James P. Allison, Ph.D., is the 2015 Lasker-Debakey Clinical Medical Research Award for Unleashing the Immune System to Combat Caner. Allison will discuss his work in the lecture "Immune Checkpoint Blockade in Cancer Therapy: New Insights, Opportunities, and Prospect for a Cure."

Date: 5/24/18, 12pm to 1pm
Time: 5/24/18, 12pm to 1pm
Location: Hickey Auditorium, Main Building, Floor 11 (R11.1400)
Format: Lecture
Speaker Bio: James P. Allison, Ph.D., is currently Professor and Chair of the Department of Immunology and the Executive Director of the Immunotherapy Platform, and a Director of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, where he also holds the Vivian Smith Distinguished Chair in Immunology.
Sponsor: MD Anderson Alumni & Faculty Association
Contact: Charlotte Fuselier - (713) 563-1142 -